Mac Issues (Freezing After Sleep, RSS)

by hun

Recently my MacBook started to “freeze” (with the “spinning wheel of death”) when I tried to log on after it went to sleep, or even when I tried to shut it down. After some investigation (involving painful modifications) I realized it was Spotlight issue; Spotlight stalled at some point and could not finish indexing.

The cause: For my case, I found that there were several big but corrupt files. After deleting them, I am not encountering any of the previous issues at all.

Meanwhile, during the “investigation” I mentioned earlier, I made myself a new account. So I was trying to move my RSS subscription in Mail to my new account, but I couldn’t find any “Export” menu. Well, a solution for this is to just copy the RSS folder in the Library.

